Brainstorming (Mini Outcome)

I got together a bunch of my friends and asked them to help me brainstorm the other day (see this post).

I found the brainstorming exercise really interesting, especially because I, at first, found it quite difficult to relate my topic to design in lots of ways. For example, had I did the brainstorm myself I would probably only got three or four valid connections. That’s because I would have been thinking about it too much where as my friends were much more open and loose with their suggestions – which was brilliant!

For example, I don’t think I ever would have put down entrepreneurialism or anti-establishment. When you think about it though – any designer with a new idea is a kind of entrepreneur – they have their idea and possibly a prototype. The link back to groups comes in because in order to make that idea and prototype they may have had input from focus groups, may have been designing for a specific group of people or more obviously might have been working in a group.

This concept, along with environment, peer pressure, pressure (stress) and relationships/group dynamics were the points I chose to think about more. I documented some of my thoughts on paper and created a little sketchbook (see this post).

I spent some time on a team-building companies website and their very, very  pro-group view made me think about the value of a group. Is the work produced by a freelancer less considered, less valuable and less inspired that that produced by a design studio?

I tried to sum up this early concept in my very rough, hand-drawn poster.

The posters and the little cartoon holding it are exactly the same, in-fact it’s a photocopy! I coloured the T in to create a little bit of doubt, make it look like one of those spot the difference puzzles but they are actually the same. The thing that’s actually different is the number of people who influenced the posters design. The poster asks people, specifically designers, to question the importance of other people’s opinions, skills and influence in their work.

I would like to investigate this question more. How important is it for your project to have outside influence? How does/could a freelancer conquer this issue? What do you gain and what do you loose when; you work on your own; you work in a group?

One thought on “Brainstorming (Mini Outcome)”

Leave a Reply

