Summer Reading

During second year at DJCAD I have read books such as ‘The Tipping Point’ by Malcom Gladwell, ‘The Mindmap Book’ by Tony Buzan and ‘Snoop’ by Sam Gosling. These books reminded me how much I love reading and have shown me that I can review and relate them to my design studies. So, with nearly four months of summer holidays coming up I have compiled my own reading list (to keep me on track).

Blink by Malcom Gladwell

I often found myself absorbed in The Tipping Point and this was partly due to Gladwell’s writing style. The way in which he talks/writes about his research encourages me to communicate my own fieldwork better. His second book, Blink, talks about rapid cognition (e.g intuition, the snap judgements we make, first impressions…) Gaining an understanding about this will not only be interesting it will be something to consider in my Graphic Design work. As I mentioned in my research proposal, it would also help me, should I chose, to further my interest in the research area of groups vs individuals.

In the Bubble: Designing in a Complex World by John Thackara

I was greatly inspired by Lauren Currie, a service designer who gave us a lecture this year. She recommended this book to us, saying that it had greatly inspired her and was a must-read. From the summary it seems to be about the need for technology and how we should consider the impact that it has – basically do we need it? It suggests we focus on people and the services we provide for them. I am really interested in Service Design so hopefully this book will help me explore this exciting new design world.

Eats Shoots and Leaves by Lynee Truss

Writing this blog has got me writing more than I ever did but it has also opened my eyes to punctuation. I often find myself flicking through my Higher English Grade Booster by David Cockburn to check whether I should ‘dash it or bracket it’ – I do like my brackets. This book, recommended by my lecturer, talks about the importance of punctuation and how you should “give careful consideration to the meaning of what you are saying”. I have noticed that Graphic Designers often use punctuation to communicate a message – sometimes as a pun. This can be really funny and effective. This book should therefore not only help me with my blog writing but with my communication design as well. It sounds like one of those books I will keep going back to (alongside my ‘Grade Booster’).

Purple Cow by Seth Godin

This book was recommend to me on my first week at DJCAD by my course tutor. She asked us all what kind of designer we wanted to be (I wrote down ‘good…’) This book is about how as a designer or businessperson we should be remarkable. I remember doing the “five P’s” in Business Management (I was always really good at remembering four of them). This book introduces the idea of a sixth P: “Purple Cow” – I cannot wait to find out what this is and how it will help me be ‘remarkable’.

Do Good Design: How Design Can Change Our World: How Visual Communicators Can Save The World by David Berman

For my recent Oxfam project we were told to read chapter one of Cradle to Cradle by William McDonough and Michael Braungart. I was delayed on a train for four hours so ended up reading much more! It did make me think but I just couldn’t get into it. I will come back to it as I hate having unread books on my shelf. This book though, ‘Do Good Design’, was also recommended to us for the project so I borrowed it from the library. I hadn’t even finished the first chapter however before someone had requested it. What I had read though got me intrigued and I felt I could relate to it more so I am going to buy it and continue from where I left off.

The Back Of The Napkin by Dan Roam

As you might know, I am a huge fan of the Service Design Tools website and many of the tools involve sketching. This book basically talks about the power of simple drawings and how important they are for visual thinking. This will hopefully help me not only with my sketchbooks but with my communication skills. It also looks like a really fun read!

Leave a Reply

