Glasgow 912 – HND Graphic Design

I visited the City of Glasgow College (formally the Glasgow Metropolitan) show a couple of weeks ago (sorry for late post) and had a look round this years graduates work. I enjoyed looking round the graphics studios in particular because I was in their shoes last year! All of the HND Graphic Design students have their own websites which are featured on the Glasgow 912 Showcase.

It was also a chance for me to finally meet Craig Morrison and Marina Munro who i’ve been tweeting for the last few months. They will both be joining me up at DJCAD in September as they earned themselves a place in second year. Was great to have a chat with them and looking forward to seeing more of them around the graphics corridor next term!

Here is a photo of Craig’s exhibition:

Here is a photo I snapped of Marina’s exhibition:

Craig and Marina, along with some of their classmates have set up a very accomplished collective blog (Evolution and Us) that is well worth a nosy round. They have added some very exciting things to it including a ‘guest blogger‘ category which will feature special posts from industry contributers. This is a brilliant idea and I am looking forward to reading the posts. A good way of keeping up to date with the blog is by adding it on twitter: @evolutionandus

It was also nice for me to see Chris Rankin’s work as he was in my class during the first year of my HND (the HNC). I really liked his paper project which I was able to have a quick flick through as it was sitting out on display:

It was great to see everyones work and catch up with my old tutors. I heard that many of the students have been approached by industry professionals in a view to employment. Some have also been accepted to Glasgow School of Art and Edinburgh College of Art as well as Duncan of Jordanstone. This goes to show how valuable a college course can be, especially the City of Glasgow one. Hopefully it will start to get the recognition it deserves for producing very good Graphic Design students.

Leave a Reply

