Home-made Sketchbook

 

I made this sketchbook over the summer with some leftover paper I had kicking about. The stitching style is “coptic stitch” – I had to learn it for one of my book projects whilst I was at college. There are loads of tutorials on youtube for it but you can go to places like Owl and Lion who do bookbinding workshops. I went to one over the summer holidays and it was quite good although there are still some parts I struggle with – just practice needed I guess!

If you are a Dundee University student you can go to a free bookbinding class on Thursday in the Union (Carnegie Suite) at 7pm. It is being run by the Dundee University Arts Society who run lots of different events like this every year. It sounds really good and I am very disappointed that I cannot make it. You can follow the society on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

